I went to the dentist today. This is the first time in over 6 years. I know, I know. Every 6 months. I felt bad for the dental hygienist but it was a great forrm work out. Anyway, they wanted to do x-rays and they put the film holder in my mouth with a circle on the end. The picture is below. When I asked what it was for they said it helped line up the camera with the film. I thought it was a cool idea. I think it is called a Rinn. It seemed faster than I remember though I wasn’t timing it in the past. I wonder how many images had to be redone because the film didn’t line up with the camera.  I was also wondering how else this concept be used. Could this help with packaging materials that need to be centerlined but the operator can’t see or reach the material due to guarding or confined space issues. What other applications can you think of for a device that lines up a tool you can control and a mating piece that you can’t?

RINN

